Friday, August 17, 2012

Treat Them As Sacred!

I was mulling over the principles outlined in the Bible used to live a blessed life. After all, given a choice, wouldn't we all rather be blessed than not blessed? So since I have a choice in how I behave and what the consequences of that behavior brings, I thought a review was in order! As I perused those Ten Commandments one word came to mind, sacred! If any one word describes all ten of those principles, sacred fits the bill. Let me explain.

10. “You shall not covet your neighbor's house; you shall not covet your neighbor's wife, nor his male servant, nor his female servant, nor his ox, nor his donkey, nor anything that is your neighbor's.”

What another has earned is sacred. Envy of another is not.

9 “You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor."

The truth is sacred. Also your relationships within the community are sacred as well.

8 “You shall not steal."

Ownership of private property is sacred.

7 “You shall not commit adultery."

Marriage is sacred.

6 “You shall not murder."

Life is sacred.

5 “Honor your father and your mother"

Parenting is sacred.

4 “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy."

Your relationship with God is sacred.

3 “You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain."

The Lord's name is sacred.

2 “You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them nor serve them."

To honor but one true God, your Creator is sacred.

1.“I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. You shall have no other gods before Me.

To serve but one Master, the one who gave you life and fills your cup is sacred.

These Ten Commandments define morality, and morality defines our essence. A man of God is humble, teachable, and knows what is truly sacred!

God Bless!
Capt. Bill

No comments:

Post a Comment